Elisabeth Hasselbeck Says No More Kids

October 29, 2009 at 3:56 pm 2 comments

Elisabeth Hasselbeck was interview by Barbara Walters on her XM Radio Show today and she said quite a few things that I found extremely disturbing.  Here’s a transcript:

Q: Do you plan on having any more children?
A: “No, I don’t,” she said “If something happened and I was pregnant again … I don’t know how that would happen, because I’m clearly avoiding my husband.

Q: Have you ever heard of birth control?
A: “Yeah, I have. It takes a while to kick in once you start one. But in the meantime, I just find him incredibly attractive. So, it’s not like I’m that disciplined, so right now, my strategy is dressing in a way that will not get me pregnant.

She is effectively saying that in order to keep her husband at bay, she has to dress matronly.  By correlating the level of arousal in a man to the way a woman is dressed, it is saying “If I dress matronly, a man will not be attracted to me, sexually.  If I dress provacatively, a man will be so attracted to me, he will be unable to control his desire and will rape me.”

By putting the onus on the woman to dress a certain way, she is absolving a man of responsibility for his action and responses.

Entry filed under: Pop Culture. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Shifting the Blame

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. just a thought....  |  October 29, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    You are clearly reading too much into her statements…a little less time absorbed in trying to find hidden agendas and a little more time focused on your own mental health might be better served.

    Reply
  • 2. Miranda  |  October 31, 2009 at 4:09 am

    While this might work with her shallow husband this approach would not work for me. Because my man (not husband) finds me attractive in anything I wear, and I’m not bragging or anything, he even finds me attractive naked and 240lbs.
    She might be trying to be funny but I don’t find her funny. I really don’t like Hasselbeck. I used to like the View but only when she’s on maternity leave. Now that she’s back you can’t understand anything because she’s always arguing in her high pitch screetchy voice.
    And that previous comment. Wow. Wow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


